Meet the finalists of the Quirino Awards in its fifth edition

Winners will be announced on Mayo 14 th in La Laguna, Tenerife

Brazil, Chile and México are the countries with more presence among the finalists

The Ibero-American Animation Quirino Awards will be held in La Laguna, Tenerife on 14 th May and the 5 th Co-production and Business Forum will run from 12 th to 14 th May. A total of 19 works from 12 countries will compete in the nine categories of these awards created to promote and value animation in the Ibero-American region.

With six works each, Brazil, Chile and Mexico are the most represented countries among the finalists, closely followed by Spain with five candidates. Among the finalists there are also works from Argentina, Peru, Colombia, Uruguay, Ecuador, Portugal and, for the first time, from the Dominican Republic and Venezuela. The winners will be announced on May 14th at a ceremony that will take place, for the second consecutive year, in San Cristóbal de La Laguna, on the island of Tenerife.

Among the finalists there are internationally recognized works that are selected for the Oscar Awards or that have been selected and awarded at international festivals such as Annecy. The Brazilian film ” Bob Spit – We Do Not Like People” and the Chilean short film “Bestia” are the works that add the most nominations (four each). Followed by the Mexican series ” Frankelda’s Book of Spooks” and the Peruvian feature film “Ainbo Spirit of the Amazon”, with three and two nominations respectively.

An international jury made up of Sebastian Debertin (KiKA, Germany), Magdiela Hermida Duhamel (LatinX in Animation, United States), Zofia Jaroszuk (Animoon, Poland), Kenneth Ladekjær (Sun Creature Studio, Denmark) and Hernán La Greca (creative director and content developer, United States) will be in charge of choosing the winners in each of the categories.

The presentation event in Madrid was attended by Laura Castro, Insular Director of Tourism of the Cabildo de Tenerife; Elisa Rodríguez, General Deputy Director of Promotion and International Relations of the ICAA, Institute of Cinematography and Audiovisual Arts; Pablo Conde, Director of Fashion, Habitat and Cultural Industries of ICEX; Luis Yeray Gutiérrez, Mayor of San Cristóbal de La Laguna; Enrique Ojeda, General Director of Casa de América; and José Luis Farias, Director of the Quirino Awards, as well as representatives from the embassies of Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, the Dominican Republic and Uruguay.

23 countries united by animation 

All the works selected in the Best Feature Film category -the only one with four finalists- are debut films and half are Brazilian: “Bob Spit – We Do Not Like People”, a stop motion film directed by Cesar Cabral and based on the mythical punk character created by the cartoonist Angeli, and “My Uncle José”, directed by Ducca Rios and set in the last years of the Brazilian dictatorship. Other finalists in this category are “Valentina”, a film by Galician producer and director Chelo Loureiro, which has been recognized with the 2022 Goya Award for best animation film; and the Peruvian “Ainbo Spirit of the Amazon” by José Zelada and Richard Claus, one of the most international titles of recent Latin American animation, which has just been released in Spain with more than 300 copies.

The finalists in the Best Series category are the Uruguayan “Two Little Birds”, a series co-produced with Argentina and Colombia that in its project stage was rewarded with La Liga de la Animación Iberoamericana (the Ibero-American Animation League) award, the Mexican “Frankelda’s Book of Spooks”, a horror series produced by Cinema Fantasma that premiered on Cartoon Network and HBO in Latin America, and the Chilean “Zander”, a series starring a curious robot built by two girls that seeks to promote critical thinking among children.

In the Best Short Film category, “Bestia” is the new bet of Chilean animation in the race for the Oscars. Directed by Hugo Covarrubias and inspired by real events, the film enters the life of a secret police agent in the military dictatorship in Chile. The Spanish “Leopoldo From the Bar”, the fifth short film as a director by Madrid-born Diego Porral Soldevilla, and the Mexican “Tio”, a stop motion short film by director Juan J. Medina from Guadalajara, which was part of the official section of the Annecy Festival 2021.

Spanish animation adds two nominations in the Best Animation School Short Film category with works from schools in Madrid (“Crimson Tears”, directed by Íñigo Álvarez and Antonio García Tardón) and Valencia (“Flies Only Live One Day”, directed by Mauro Luis López). The short list of finalists is completed by the Uruguayan short film “Abril”, co-directed by Sofia Caponnetto and Eliana Fernández.

In addition to the categories already mentioned, the Quirino Awards will also give trophies in the categories Best Commissioned Film, Best Animation for Video Game, and in three technical categories: Best Visual Development, Best Animation Design, and Best Sound Design and Original Music. The complete list of finalists can be consulted at the following link.

In addition to the awards ceremony, the Quirino Awards will host the 41st Ordinary Meeting of the Conference of Audiovisual and Cinematographic Authorities of Ibero-America (CAACI) and the 20th Extraordinary Meeting of the Intergovernmental Council of Ibermedia.

Likewise, the Awards will host the 5th Co-production and Business Forum, which in its last edition brought together more than 120 company representatives from 19 countries and organized more than 700 professional meetings. Registration to participate in the forum will open in the coming days.

About the Quirino Awards

Created in 2018 by a group of professionals from Latin America and Spain, the Quirino Awards seek to value talent and the Ibero-American animation industry, in addition to promoting professional networks and contributing to the construction of an Ibero-American animation market.

The awards were named in honor of the creator of the first animated feature film in history, the Italian-Argentine Quirino Cristiani, who in 1917 directed “El Apóstol”. It is an Argentine production in which 58,000 drawings made by hand and shot in 35 mm were used.

The initiative has the main sponsorship of the Cabildo de Tenerife through Turismo de Tenerife and the Tenerife Film Commission; the sponsorship of the City Council of San Cristóbal de La Laguna, ICEX Spain Export and Investment, Government of the Canary Islands, Canary Islands Institute for Cultural Development, Canary Islands Film and ICAA; the collaboration of CAACI, Ibermedia Program, PROEXCA, RTVE, Tangram Solutions, HP, WELAW, Retina Latina, Filmin, Casa de América and Culturamanía; and the support of DIBOOS, SAVE, Pixelatl, Animation! Ventana Sur, Weird Market, La Liga de la Animación Iberoamericana (The Ibero-American Animation League), La Mesta, Pantalla, Canary Islands Audiovisual Cluster and Annecy Festival; as well as that from the associations APA – Association of Animation Production Companies of Córdoba Argentina; Animar Cluster – Argentine Cluster of Animation & VFX; ABCA – Brazilian Association of Animation Cinema; Animachi Chile; Bolivian Animators Network; GEMA Colombia – Animation Business Group; Animation Costa Rica; Ecuadorian Animators Guild; ACDMX – Association of Digital Creatives of Mexico; Paraguay Animation; Peru Animation; and Casa da Animação de Portugal.

Links of interest

List of finalists works for the 2022 Quirino Awards

Summary video of the finalists works 

2022 Quirino Awards’ Jury

2022 Selection Committee

WEB premios Quirino

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *