Tenerife Symphony Orchestra - Tenerife

Tenerife Symphony Orchestra

Founded in 1935 as a Chamber Orchestra
Send page by mail
The Tenerife Symphony Orchestra continues the work begun by the Canarian Chamber Orchestra which was created in 1935. However, it has only been since 1985, under the conductor Victor Pablo Pérez, that it has achieved such great artistic recognition. Today the orchestra, conducted by Michal Nesterowicz , has an excellent reputation. It also performs throughout Spain and Europe.

The annual season of concerts is held in the Auditorio de Tenerife and runs from October to June although the orchestra is also very much involved in the Canary Islands Music Festival, the Tenerife Opera Festival and various special concerts performed both on the island and abroad.
The great number of artists who have performed alongside the Tenerife Symphony Orchestra shows its high artistic standing. These include Krystian Zimerman, Kyung Wha Chung, Mischa Maisky, Schlomo Mintz, Gil Shaham, Grigorij Sokolov, Frank P. Zimmermann and Dimitri Bashkirov, just some of the artists that have performed with the orchestra. Other famous names such as, Plácido Domingo, Alfredo Kraus, Edith Mathis, María Bayo, Barbara Booney, Nathalie Stutzmann, Brigitte Fassbaender, María José Moreno, Arleene Auger, Frederica Von Stade and Tom Krause have also worked with the orchestra, as have many well-known conductors such as Jesús López Cobos, Raymond Leppard, Cristóbal Halffter, Libor Pesek and Dimitry Sitkovetsky.