The third edition of the Quirino Awards is celebrated online until June 27th

The Awards Ceremony will take place on June 27th

All finalists works

The third edition of the Ibero-American Animation Quirino Awards is celebrated this year online because of the pandemic situation due to COVID19 virus. The event, which has the main sponsorship of the Cabildo de Tenerife through the Tenerife Film Commission, had planned to celebrate its third edition on April 18th in the city of Santa Cruz.

With the aim of promoting the Ibero-American animation, Quirino month proposes different activities aimed at both professionals and the general public. The program is made up of the awards ceremony, which will take place online on June 27th and will serve as a closing ceremony; talks about different aspects of the sector; co-production and business forum; dialogues with the finalist works and, for the first time, some of the works are available to the public through the online platforms Retina Latina & Filmin. You can find all the activities program here.


The Quirino Month will culminate on June 27th with the awards ceremony and the animated photocall in which the winning works in the nine categories of the awards will be announced.

A total of 22 works from ten countries in the region (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay) will dispute the statuettes of this third edition.

The Portuguese animation is the most represented with ten candidates, while Spain presents seven finalists, followed by Argentina (6), Brazil (4), Colombia (2), Bolivia (2), Chile (1), Mexico (1), Uruguay (1) and Paraguay (1). The Portuguese school short film “Nestor”, co-produced with the United Kingdom, is the work with more nominations (4); followed by the Spanish feature film “Klaus” and the Portuguese short film “Uncle Thomas Accounting for the Days”, with three nominations each.

The selection has been made by an international jury composed of the Colombian Alfredo Marun (Development Director at Disney Television Animation); Polish Anja Franczak (Creative Producer in Human Ark); the Salvadorian Simon Vladimir Varela (Production Designer and Visual Development Artist for several studios, including Pixar, Disney, Warner Bros, Sony Animation, Fox and Universal); the American Vera Verba (Manager of the Sesame Workshop YouTube Channel) and the French Veronique Encrenaz (Director of MIFA Annecy).

Video resume of all finalists

The four feature films that qualify for the Quirino Award are: the Argentine-Spanish co-production “Turu, the Wacky Hen”, by Víctor Monigote and Eduardo Gondell; the Argentine “The Longleg” by Mercedes Moreira; the Colombian “Reconciliation Stories” by Carlos Santa and Rubén Monroy; and the Spanish “Klaus” by Sergio Pablos.

For its part, the finalist series are the Portuguese “Crias – Crocodiles”, co-produced with France; the Spanish “Momonsters”; the Mexican “Space Chickens in Space”, co-produced with the United Kingdom, Ireland and Australia; and the Brazilian “Tainá and the Amazon’s Guardians”.

In the short films category, the candidates are the Colombian “The Cubicbird” by Jorge Alberto Vega and the Portuguese “Purpleboy” by Alexandre Siqueira, co-production with Belgium and France, and “Uncle Thomas: Accounting for the Days” by Regina Pessoa, co-production with Canada and France


In the third edition of the Co-Production and Business Forum of the Quirino Awards, which has the collaboration of ICEX, Animation From Spain and PROEXCA, more than 90 companies from 19 countries participate. Throughout a month, representatives of channels, distributors and producers have the opportunity to know, through online meetings with Ibero-American professionals, different projects from the 23 countries of the Ibero-American region. These scheduled B2B meetings make a total of more than 800 meetings.

Adult Swim, Discovery Kids, Cartoon Network, Disney TV Animation, Pakapaka, RTVE, Playkids, Sesame Workshop, PGS, Zodiak Kids, Toonz Media, Dandeloo, GFM Films, Monster Entertainment, Planeta Junior, Kreiworks, Indie Sales, Autour de Minuit, Alterego, Xilam Animation, Metrovision, Spirit Animation, Red Animation, Human Ark, Ikki Films, Ánima, Momakin and Barley Films are some of the channels, distributors and production companies that have participated in this edition.

To stand out, the meeting between the Ibermedia Program and the sector associations in the region. In addition to Elena Vilardell and Víctor Sánchez, Technical and Executive Secretary and General Coordinator of the Ibermedia Program and Concha Diaz, Coordinator of the Tenerife Film Commission; the Argentine associations Animar Cluster and APA Córdoba Animation Producers Association; the Bolivian Animators Network; the Brazilian Association of Animated Cinema; GEMA Colombia – Group of Animation Companies; the Chilean Animachi; Animation Costa Rica; Group of Animators of Ecuador; the Spanish Diboos; the Mexican Jalisco Creativo, Association of Digital Creatives of Mexico and Pixelatl; Paraguay Animation; Peru Animation; the Portuguese Casa da Animaçao; and Tenerife’s SAVE.

About Quirino Awards

The awards are named after the creator of the first animated feature film in history, the Italian-Argentine Quirino Cristiani, who in 1917 directed “The Apostle”; an Argentine production in which 58,000 drawings made by hand and shot in 35 mm were used, in addition to several models representing public buildings and the streets of the city of Buenos Aires.

The Quirino Awards, which have the main sponsorship of the Cabildo de Tenerife through the Tenerife Film Commission, reflect the determined commitment that has been made for years to animation on the island. This commitment also materializes in concrete actions to support the blooming local industry, assistance to major international markets and the promotion of the “Tenerife Isla Cartoon” brand, specific to this sector.

The initiative also has the sponsorship of ICEX Spain Export and Investments, PROEXCA, City Council of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canary Islands Film and y HP; the collaboration of ICAA, CAACI, Ibermedia Program, Acción Cultural Española, Auditorium of Tenerife, Tenerife Espacio de las Artes (TEA), University of La Laguna, RTVE, Filmin,  Retina Latina, Tangram Solutions, WELAW, Embassy of Portugal and Casa de América; and the support of DIBOOS, SAVE, Pixelatl, Ventana Sur Animation!, Weird, La Liga de la Animación Iberoamericana (the Ibero-American Animation League), Koch, Tenerife Moda, Clúster Audiovisual of Canarias, Annecy Festival and European Animation Emile Awards, as well as the associations: APA – Association of Animation Producers of Cordoba Argentina; ANIMAR CLUSTER – Argentine Animation Cluster & VFX; ABCA – Associação Brasileira de Cinema de Animação; Animachi Chile; GEMA Colombia – Animation Entrepreneurs Group; Group of Animators of Ecuador; ACDMX – Association of Digital Creatives of Mexico; Peru Animation and Casa da Animaçao of Portugal, Paraguay Animation and Bolivian animators network.

More information and links of interest 

All finalist works:

Video resume of all finalists:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *