The 7th Quirino Awards announce details of the Co-production Forum and side activities

Finalist works for the Quirino Awards in the categories Short Film and School Short Film will be available online for everyone

Tenerife, April 16, 2024. The Quirino Ibero-American Animation Awards have advanced details of its seventh edition, to be held from May 9 to 11 in San Cristóbal de La Laguna, Tenerife. The Co-Production and Business Forum, the presentation of IBERMEDIA NEXT and the meeting of Ibero-American public television stations are some of the professional activities organized within the framework of these awards created to promote the development, co-production and circulation of animation works from Latin America, Spain, and Portugal. In May, the Quirino Awards will be presenting a series of online programs to learn more about the finalists of the seventh edition, with the awards to be handed out on May 11. The Quirino Awards have the main sponsorship of the Tenerife Council through Turismo de Tenerife.

With more than 200 professionals registered, the Co-Production and Business Forum is on track to set a new record for participation this year. Taking place on May 10 and 11, the event will be attended by representatives of 150 companies from 24 countries, including production companies, distributors, sales agencies, TV channels and streaming platforms, with more than a thousand business meetings to be held in this space for professionals created with the aim of promoting the co-production, development and circulation of animation works and projects. 

Some of the companies that have confirmed their participation in the Forum are: 3Cat, A Contracorriente Films, Aardman Animations, Banijay Kids & Family, Barley Films, Bento Box, Cake Entertainment, Canal Capital – Eureka, Canal IPE, Chatrone, Cinema Management Group, Dandelooo, DeAPlaneta Entertainment, El Reino Infantil, EITB, Folivari International, Giant Animation, Globo, Goldbee, Ikki Films, Indie Sales, KiKA, Latido Films, LevelK, LTV, Lupus Films, Mediatoon Distribution, Méliès Producciones, Momakin, Monster Entertainment, NTV-TVN, Odin’s Eye Entertainment, Panique!, PGS Entertainment, RAI, RTP,  RTVE, Sacrebleu, Snafu Pictures, Studio 100 Media, Taller del Chucho, TAT Productions, The Line Animation, The Walt Disney Company, Tondero Distribución, Toonz Media, TV Cultura, Warner Bros. Discovery Latam, Wba & Cartoon Network Studios, Xilam and Ypsilon Films.

Over 200 animation professionals will participate in the Quirino Awards Co-production Forum in Tenerife.

The Co-production and Business Forum of the 7th Quirino Awards will take place in Tenerife on May 10th and 11th, with the participation of the Tenerife animation industry through studios like 3Doubles Producciones, Atlantis Animation, B Water Studios, and Mondo TV Studios, as well as production companies MGC and Canary Productions, and consulting firm

Previously, on May 9, there will be a presentation of IBERMEDIA NEXT, a grant from the Ibermedia Program created to promote the co-development of innovative processes in animation between companies and individuals from Spain, Portugal, Italy, and Latin America, featuring the 14 beneficiary projects. 

Among other activities, the event will also host the Meeting of Ibero-American Public Television Stations and the round table on Women in Ibero-American Animation, with the participation of the finalists for the Animation! Ventana Sur and MIANIMA mentorships.

The seventh edition of the Co-Production and Business Forum is made possible thanks to the main sponsorship of the Tenerife Council through Turismo de Tenerife and the Tenerife Film Commission. The activity is also sponsored by ICEX and Animation From Spain.

Online Activities

With the aim of learning more about the selected works, the Quirino Awards present a series of talks with the finalists in the three main categories, which will be available online through the YouTube channel of the Awards.

The series begins on April 29 with a program centered on the candidates for Best Short Film with the participation of directors Marcus Vinicius Vasconcelos and Alois Di Leo (“Lulina e a Lua”), Miguel Lima (“Quase me lembro”) and Martín Romero (“To Bird or Not to Bird”).

Dedicated to the finalists in the Best Series category, the second program of the series will be broadcast on May 3, including interviews with Silvia Cortés (“Jasmine & Jambo”), Andrés Lieban (“O Hotel Silvestre de Ana Flor”), Michele Massagli, Beto Gomez and Giu Nishiyama (“O Menino Maluquinho”), Miguel Esteban (“Pobre Diablo”) and Paloma Mora (“Sex Symbols”).

The series concludes on Monday, May 6 with a program dedicated to the finalists in the Best Feature Film category, with the participation of Lorena Ares (“Hanna and the Monsters”), Pablo Berger (“Robot Dreams”), Isabel Herguera (“El sueño de la Sultana”) and Fernando Sirianni and Federico Moreno (“El Paraíso”).

Finalist works in the categories Short Film and School Short Film will be available between May 6 and 19 through the streaming platforms Retina Latina (free access from all over the world after registration) and Filmin (access restricted to subscribers in Spain).

The Quirino Awards on the Island

As part of their program, the Quirino Awards are organizing activities aimed at the Tenerife public, including the screening of the finalist feature films (Multicines Tenerife, May 25 and 26) and the finalist short films (Teatro Leal, May 10). The screenings are free in both cases, but tickets must be collected at the box office.

In addition, the Espacio Aguere Cultural will host Beerworking, a meeting between students and professionals of illustration, comics, design, animation, and video games that will take place on Tuesday, May 7. This activity is also free of charge, but registration is required.

About the Quirino Awards

The Awards were named after Quirino Cristiani, creator of the first animated feature film in history, an Argentine production titled “El Apóstol” (1917) in which 58,000 drawings made by hand and shot in 35 mm were used.

The Quirino Awards have the main sponsorship of the Tenerife Council through Turismo de Tenerife and the Tenerife Film Commission; the sponsorship of the City Council of San Cristóbal de La Laguna, ICEX Spain Export and Investment and ICAA; the collaboration of CAACI, the Ibermedia Program, Acción Cultural Española through the Program for Internationalization of Spanish Culture (PICE), OEI, MAFIZ-Malaga Film Festival, RTVE, WELAW, La Liga de la Animación Iberoamericana (The Ibero-American Animation League), Retina Latina, Filmin, Multicines Tenerife and Culturamanía; and the support of DIBOOS, SAVE, Pixelatl, Animation! Ventana Sur, Weird Market, La Mesta, Pantalla, Canary Islands Audiovisual Cluster, and Annecy Festival; as well as that from the associations APA – Association of Animation Production Companies of Córdoba Argentina; Animar Cluster – Argentine Cluster of Animation & VFX; ABCA – Brazilian Association of Animation Cinema; Animachi Chile; Bolivian Animators Network; GEMA Colombia – Animation Business Group; Animation Costa Rica; Ecuadorian Animators Guild; ACDMX – Association of Digital Creatives of Mexico; Paraguay Animation; Peru Animation; and Casa da Animação of Portugal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *