Men's Tenerife Open

The famous Spanish golfer, José María Olazábal, was the winner of the first Tenerife Open in 1989, which was held at Golf del Sur. One year later, the Argentine Vicente Fernández was victorious when the Tenerife Open was held at Amarilla Golf.

The Tenerife Open then returned to the Island in 1992 and 1994, once again at Golf del Sur, although at the time it was known as the Turespaña Tenerife Open. In 1992, Spain's international golfer José María Olazábal achieved yet another famous victory. In 1994, the prize went to England's David Gilford.