The Mother Church of Apóstol Santiago
There are some historical documents on the surrender of the Guanche Kings that mention a place of worship devoted to Apóstol Santiago as early as 1496. This leads historians to believe that this church was the Island's first Catholic church, although it did not reach its current size or structure until the 16th century, after various additions. Its baptismal font was used to christen the nine Guanche Kings, according to the poet Antonio de Viana and to the historians Juan Núñez de la Peña and José de Viera y Clavijo. The church has undergone a series of refurbishments and constructions to become the building we see today, with its three naves, each with their own chapel, and the chancel and sacristy at either side. The steeple was added in 1714 and the façade was enhanced in the 20th century. Inside there is an 18th century altarpiece devoted to Santa Bárbara which is believed to have been created by Pedro Duque Cornejo and it is considered one of the gems of Canarian Baroque art. The altarpiece of La Misericordia is a century older and was created by Antonio Álvarez, featuring figures of Cristo de la Misericordia, Nuestra Señora de los Dolores and San Juan Evangelista. Other important sculptures in the church are those of San Isidro Labrador, Santa Lucía and San Francisco. The chancel is dedicated to Santiago Apóstol and is special because of its Mudejar-style coffered ceiling from 1680. There are also extremely valuable paintings in this church, such as the one depicting Santo Tomás de Aquino and another of the Crucifixion. In 1983, the church was declared a National Historic Monument and an Asset of Cultural Interest.